This article provides an overview of the ITIL Service Transition process.

Service transition relates to the delivery of services into live or operational use, effectively covering the “project” side of IT rather than the standard “business as usual” activities. It includes managing changes to the operational environment.

Service transition covers the following processes:

  1. Change Management.
  2. Evaluation.
  3. Knowledge Management.
  4. Release & Deployment Management.
  5. Risk Management.
  6. Security Patch Management.
  7. Service Asset & Config. Management.
  8. Service Validation & Testing.

The purpose of service transition is to ensure a smooth transition of IT services from design to operations.
For more information please contact Morland-Austin at