This article provides an overview of Continual Service Improvement as part of ITIL.

Continual Service Improvement (CSI) is vital in maintaining value for customers through the continual evaluation (feedback loops) and improvement of the quality of IT services and the overall maturity of the IT service management lifecycle (Strategy, Design, Transition, Operations etc.) and it’s underpinning processes.

CSI uses a combination of methods and principles from quality, change and capability management frameworks, such as the Plan-Do-Check-Act model (PDCA – Deming Cycle) specified in ISO/IEC 20000 to improve each stage of the IT service management lifecycle and therefore continuously improve existing IT services, processes, related activities and technology.

It is extremely important that CSI is not an afterthought. It should be embedded within the IT management culture, designed and implemented at the inception of any new IT service and as an ongoing activity once an IT service is in operation. It should not be introduced as a reactive discrete project to resolve a specific issue, which has the risk of failure to deliver the correct improvements in the long term.

CSI consists of the following core approach and process:

  1. Continual Service Improvement Approach
    What is the vision?
    Where are we now?
    Where do we want to be?
    How do we get there?
    Did we get there?
    How do we keep the momentum going?
  2. The Seven-Step Improvement Process

For more information please contact Morland-Austin at